National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC), India is a quasi-judicial commission in India which was set up in 1988 under the Consumer Protection Act of 1986. Its head office is in New Delhi. The commission is headed by a sitting or retired judge of the Supreme Court of India.The commission is presently headed by Justice R K Agrawal, former judge of the Supreme Court of India.

Section 21 of Consumer Protection Act, 1986 posits that the National Consumer shall have jurisdiction:- to entertain a complaint valued more than one crore and also have Appellate and Revisional jurisdiction from the orders of State Commissions or the District fora as the case may be. 

Section 23 of Consumer Protection Act, 1986, provides that any person aggrieved by an order of NCDRC,  may prefer an Appeal against such order to Supreme Court of India within a period of 30 days.


Hon'ble Mr. Justice R. K. Agrawal President

Born on May 5, 1953.

Hon'ble Mr. Justice Rajesh Kumar Agrawal hails from Uttar Pradesh. He did his graduation in Law from Allahabad University.
He enrolled as Advocate on 14.08.1976. Joined the chamber of his father Sri Raja Ram Agrawal, Senior Advocate and former Advocate General of Uttar Pradesh on Civil side and dealt with Constitutional, Company, Service, Educational and Taxation matters.
Worked as Standing Counsel of the Income Tax Department of the Government of India.
Served a number of corporations and institutions as their Standing Counsel. Was Joint Editor of U.P. Tax Cases.
Elevated as permanent Judge of the Allahabad High Court on 05.02.1999.
Assumed office as Acting Chief Justice, High Court of Madras on 07.02.2013.
Assumed office as Chief Justice, High Court of Madras on 24.10.2013.
He was appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court of India and sworn in on 17.02.2014. Retired on 04.05.2018.
Appointed as President of National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission on 01.07.2018 after retirement from the Supreme Court of India.


Sl. No.

Name of Officer


Tel. No.

Shri S. Hanumantha Rao

Joint Registrar


Shri Iqbal Ahmed

Deputy Registrar


Shri H. C. Joshi

Assistant Registrar


Shri Yogander Kumar



Shri S. Viswanathan

Assistant Registrar


Shri Rajesh Nath Tiwari

Assistant Registrar


Shri R. M. Naidu

Accounts Officer


Shri L. N. Arora

Section Officer


Shri Satyabrata Nanda

Section Officer



The address of the National Commission is :   

Postal Address :  National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission,

       Upbhokta Nyay Bhawan, ‘F’ - Block, GPO Complex,

       INA, New Delhi – 110 023

E-mail I.D.        :  

Website           :

Phone No.        :   011 – 24608715

Fax                  :   011 – 24651505